Documentation

Transfer & Distribution Only

Distributions can be entered directly, scheduled and transferred to a distribution site.

Distribution volunteers are notified of the distribution and can choose to "sign up" to help.

People who have requested notification of distributions in their area are notified of the distribution.

Typical Workflow

The steps below outline the process for a transfer and distribution.

Distributions represent an event where free, portioned food is distributed. Distributions are assigned to a distribution site.

Any signed-in user can create a new distribution.

Distributions can be created from portionings, from harvests or on their own. Each distribution has a specified portion size and number of portions.

After a distribution is created, it will saved as a "draft". Any user can submit a distribution for approval by distributor leaders. If the distribution is created by a user designated as team or distributor leader, the distribution is auto-approved, proceeding directly to "approved" state.

Only "approved" distributions show on the website as opportunities for volunteers.

When a new distribution is added, a notification is sent to the user who created it. If a distributor is designated, distributor leaders are also notified.

Distributions are transferred to distributors.

Any signed-in user can create a transfer for a distribution.

A transfer typically transitions through these states: draft, pending, active, closed. After a transfer is created, it will be in "draft" state. If the transfer is created by a user designated as team or distributor leader, the transfer is auto-approved, proceeding directly to "active" state.

Only "active" transfers show on the website as opportunities for volunteers.

When a new transfer is added, a notification is sent to the user who created it. If a distributor is designated, distributor leaders are also notified. If a team is designated, team leaders are also notified.

Distributions are "started" by distribution leaders.

When a distribution is started, a notification is sent to the user who created it. Distributor leaders are also notified.

Distributions are "closed" by distribution leaders or by a nightly background automated process on the server. Distributions with state "finished" are automatically closed after 30 days.

When a distribution is closed, a notification is sent to the user who created it. Distributor leaders are also notified.